Website Review for Novice Website Designer

##Pleasant Grove Church

Pleasant Grove Church website. This is my first attempt at building a website and would appreciate any feedback given that would help to improve design, layout, general things to be concerned about when creating sites. I thank everyone in advance that is willing to give a little of their time for this request.

2 Likes

I have a fairly fast internet connection and it took a while to download the images for your slider. You might want to try resizing and/or compressing the images. The rest of the the site loaded ok but the slider sat there blank for quite a while.

1 Like

Another point about the slider.

Iā€™m looking at the site on a 27" screen and I canā€™t see all of the slides. Iā€™d expect to have to scroll down on a small screen, but not on one this big. In addition, I donā€™t know if itā€™s a loading issue but the first slide ā€˜sitsā€™ there a long time before moving on so itā€™s not immediately apparent itā€™s a slider at all.

A big site for a first time effort though - well played. :sunglasses:

1 Like

exactly what was on my mind after 10 clicks or so! :muscle:

1 Like

slider is slow here as well

Thanks for the feedback. I have compressed the images used in the slide show. There is a delay between slides to allow the visitor to read them. See if this helps on your end. I did notice Safari not being as fast as Firefox and Chrome.

I canĀ“t remember if that was the same when I first viewed the site, but I notice now that you slideshow images donĀ“t fit very well when the browser window gets largerā€¦ maybe you can further tweak the responsive settings a bit.

Currently the user is forced to scroll vertically to see full content.
That is not super user friendly and it isnĀ“t obvious at all, that the content is cut off!