Alloy v2 and MAMP

Hi, I am a newbie with Foundry and Alloy3. I haven’t got an online server yet and test localy, using MAMP. I can follow your youtube tutorials, but can’t seem to locally ‘upload’ images for the Toppers, I just get a red X or circle. when I ‘Choose a File…’ In the ‘Sites’ folder, the images appear in the ‘image-uploads’ folder of the editor, but not in the ‘images-uploads’ folder of the blog.

Hello Leonardo,

I experienced the same problem a week ago and there was a chat in this forum that helped some users. Adam basically advised the users to ensure they are running the correct version of PHP on the server, I believe that 7.2 and up was good enough. He also told them to ensure that the Website Address in the Publishing section of RapidWeaver matches that in the General tab of RapidWeaver next to Web Address. You should be able to find that post by performing a quick search.

This was not my issue , but what I found that helped me was to make sure that the name of my page (i.e. blog) was in the Folder section under General Settings inspector tab in RapidWeaver and leave the file name as index.php (before I used to place a / next to the Folder and blog.php next to Filename in the General Settings and this did not work with Alloy).

Finally, I deleted all the old files of my server and republished all the files from RapidWeaver agin, and went through the blog setup process again. This along with the suggestions above solved my problem. Hope this helps.

Justin

Hi @leonardo1776

What is the goal of building the blog locally using MAMP?

I ask because the posts you make locally, including image uploads, will not point to the proper location if you plan to move the blog to your server later on.

Alloy was not designed with MAMP in mind as it is expected the blog will be hosted on your server for others to read.